February 11, 2014CE – Implications of Fighting Back

There is an organized movement opposing mass surveillance of Internet and other electronically-exchanged information sources.  The organizers have chosen 11FEB2014CE as the day for a mass observance and general resistance point.  (Link follows, after some commentary on my part.)

I’ve yet to decide a more formal stance for myself – I tend toward “Not on your tintype!”, but there is such a thing as too little regard for evil in the world.  Be very very certain that I class terrorism as evil, be it on the scale of bullying one person or forcing a commercial jet to impact an occupied skyscraper.

Fighting back for me takes nearly as many forms in the long run.  “Fat jokes” aren’t a safe refuge for bullying if I’m in the neighborhood.  Neither are gay jokes, Scouting jokes, ethnic jokes, or geek jokes.  Plenty more “target” jokes that will get me riled up, and some of those even if the joke-spouter is targeting themselves.   I may laugh.  I may cry.  I may even repeat the joke later (AdAPOLOGIESvance, not perfect here) – but only after re-consideration.  Is the joke a deliberate attack?  Is it mean-ness for the sake of being mean?

OR is the joke a sharing, a commiseration with the human plight we share with the target?  Deprecative humor does have a role in establishing community.  My contention here is that it should not be used to tear apart what is still being built.

Government agencies by their past actions very seldom receive the same level of defense from me.  There are good men and women working to keep us safe however, yet all too often they find themselves at odds with the procedures and policies of the agencies which employ them.

In the interest of fairness, I’ll make this declaration —  NSA / FBI / CIA / whatever other alphabet-soup agency is out there from whichever government, group, or corporation:  you have full permission to kiss my rear repeatedly and with relish.  When/if you choose to try and do more than that, or your assorted lackeys seek to make a profit off the act, remember my words and the actions I have used in the past and hereby pledge to use in the future.

To paraphrase a few recent cultural icons, you really do not want to make me angry.  I bite back when bitten.  As the little guy in the fight, I’m also likely to show only as much restraint as it seems to take so I won’t inadvertently damage bystanders (and even then, I’ll weigh the cost of collateral damage as much after the fact as before, particularly if you rush my thinking too much).

And for all of that and quite a solid bit more I will make NO apology.

https://thedaywefightback.org/

Leave a Reply

